Renewal: Licensed social workers and licensed clinical social workers shall complete forty (40) PDH each renewal cycle in order to renew their license or certification. No more than twenty (20) PDH in a single Professional Development Activity shall be credited and recognized each renewal cycle. Next renewal cycle ends August 31, 2015.

Continuing Professional Development: License types with CPD renewal requirements are: CACII, CACIII, LAC, MFT, LPC, LSW, CSW.

There are three methods to satisfy the CPD requirement:

1. Active Military Service Exemption

2. Deem Status

3. CPD Program entailing the completion of:

a) Reflective Practice,

b) Learning Plan, and

c) 40 Professional Development Hours (PDH).

Acceptable Professional Development Activities (PDA)

•Volunteer Service






•Independent Learning

•Group Learning

State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view your state’s continuing education regulations, click the link below.

For more information visit the Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners.