CE Requirements: 27 hours of continuing education credits must be completed by December 31 of even-numbered years. Out of the 27 hours, a minimum of three hours per biennium shall be in social work ethics. A maximum of 12 hours of home study is permitted.
Requirement of supervisors: For licensure at the independent level, persons serving in a supervisory role must complete three hours of continuing education in supervision.
Training for Identifying and Reporting Abuse
Iowa-licensed social workers shall complete an approved training program in identifying and reporting abuse. An approved training program is a training program using a curriculum approved by the abuse education review panel of the Department of Public Health. Continuing education credit from these courses can be used for license renewal if an approved provider gives the course and continuing education credit is awarded. At the time of renewal, the licensee will be required to document completion of the training requirements.
An Iowa-licensed social worker who regularly provides primary health care to children shall complete:
- Two hours of training in child abuse identification and reporting in the previous five years.
An Iowa-licensed social worker who regularly provides primary health care to adults shall complete:
- Two hours of training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting in the previous five years.
An Iowa-licensed social worker who regularly provides primary health care to adults and children shall complete training on the identification and reporting of abuse in dependent adults and children. This training may be completed through two separate courses or in one combined two-hour course that includes curricula for identifying and reporting child abuse and dependent adult abuse.
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view your state’s continuing education regulations, click the link below.
For more information visit the Iowa Board of Social Work