Effective January 1, 2015, an applicant for registration as a licensed master social worker or licensed clinical social worker shall complete a minimum of 36 hours of acceptable formal continuing education over the 3-year period. Continuing education hours taken during one triennium may not be transferred to the subsequent triennium. No more than 12 hours of continuing education activities in any 36 month period, or one-third of the total hours in periods of other lengths, may consist of self-study educational activities from New York State Education Department approved providers.
Effective September 1, 2004, Education Law requires licensed clinical social workers and licensed master social workers, when applying initially for licensure or a limited permit, or for the renewal of a New York State license or registration, to provide documentation of having completed two hours of coursework or training regarding the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment. This is a one-time requirement and once taken does not need to be completed again.
State laws can change. Practitioners are responsible for determining their state’s licensure requirements. To view your state’s continuing education regulations, click the link below.
For more information visit the New York Office of the Professions